Real World Artifacts

Real World Artifact LogoSometimes, there are rare and wondrous items that cross from our world into the game world, and vice versa. In that vein, artifacts from the Hidden Worlds have leaked into our reality and have become Real World Artifacts that can be used in the game.

How do you find these elusive artifacts? Find Section 28 Publishing or Bryan Donihue at any con or event, and they will likely have some one them. For a price. It might require a demo game to be played. It might require listening to a spiel about a new release. Or the ODGM himself, Bryan, may give in to his Chaotic Evil GM nature and require some other sacrifice. (We try to keep him in check. We really do.)

RWA LogoOfficial artifacts are listed below, and will contain the official logos. The rules for using each artifact are also listed on the artifacts themselves where available – except for that dastardly Agent Mulligan. He ignored our design criteria. Enjoy.

NOTE to GMs: As always, your table is your table, and yo have final say on the appropriate use of the Artifacts listed below. Embrace the chaos and have fun.

Note to Players: Don’t be jerks. Seriously. Enjoy the Artifacts, but treat your GM well.

 

For those who are lucky enough to have met Agent Mulligan, he has passed on his luck to you. As a holder of this artifact you are able to affect one (and only one) SC or OC per game session. To use this Artifact, you must be in possession of it. Show it to your GameMaster and then change any one die roll to an Exploding Crit–either Exploding Up or Exploding Down.

If you use this Artifact to Explode Up, add (+20) to the original BASE of the Core Skill or Proficiency, and then roll the die again and add it. This is treated as an original Exploding Crit (Up).

If you use the Artifact to Explode Down, add (+1) to the original BASE of the Core Skill or Proficiency, and then roll the die again and subtract that number. This is treated as an original Exploding Crit (Down).

This Artifact may only be used once per game session. This TYPE of Artifact (Agent Mulligan’s Critically Acclaimed Undo) can only be used twice during any game session. That means only two different people may use their Agent Mulligan’s Critically Acclaimed Undo.

Unlike most other Artifacts, this Artifact does not require the user to give up ownership once used. The original owner may keep it as long as they please.

Agent Mulligan's Critically Acclaimed Undo

Your character receives part of their skills from an otherworldly source – YOU.

Once Character Creation is COMPLETELY finished for the entire group, the Gifted Character receives an additional (+10) points to any one Proficiency that they already have from their Education, Career(s), or Hobbies. This cannot add a completely new Proficiency for the Character.

If the back of this Artifact is signed by the ODGM (Bryan Donihue), the player may add an additional (+5) Proficiency ranks to a different existing Proficiency. This is in addition to the original (+10), and this bonus travels with the Artifact.

This Artifact may only be used once per game session, regardless of who used it. This TYPE of Artifact (Gifted Character Artifact) can only be used twice during any game session. That means only two different people may use their Gifted Character Artifacts.

Once this Artifact is used, it MUST be given to another player. This is a GIFT to the other player for them to keep and/or use as they seem fit.

Gifted Character Artifact

 

Your character receives a boost from an otherworldly source – YOU.

Once Character Creation is COMPLETELY finished for the entire group, the Powered Character receives an additional (+5) points to either their Life Pool or their Soul Pool. This is a PERMANENT boost to their Maximum Pool, and is NOT a temporary boost.

If the back of this Artifact is signed by the ODGM (Bryan Donihue), the player may add an additional (+3) points to either the Life Pool or the Soul Pool. This is in addition to the original (+5), and this bonus travels with the Artifact.

This Artifact may only be used once per game session, regardless of who used it. This TYPE of Artifact (Powered Character Artifact) can only be used twice during any game session. That means only two different people may use their Powered Character Artifacts.

Once this Artifact is used, it MUST be given to another player. This is a GIFT to the other player for them to keep and/or use as they seem fit.

Powered Character Artifact

Your character receives part of their resistance from an otherworldly source – YOU.

Once Character Creation is COMPLETELY finished for the entire group, the Character Character receives a small trinket, jewelry, or other item that becomes a symbol of power for them. When they have this object on them, the character gains a Conditional Modifier of (+5) to Faith: Resist Faith Attack. If the character loses the object, they lose the modifier.

If the back of this Artifact is signed by the ODGM (Bryan Donihue), the Charmed object gains an additional (+2) Conditional Modifier for Faith: Cast Faith Ability. This is in addition to the original (+5) Modifier, and this bonus travels with the Artifact.

This Artifact may only be used once per game session, regardless of who used it. This TYPE of Artifact (Charmed Character Artifact) can only be used twice during any game session. That means only two different people may use their Charmed Character Artifacts.

Once this Artifact is used, it MUST be given to another player. This is a GIFT to the other player for them to keep and/or use as they seem fit.

Charmed Character

Your character receives protection from wounds from an otherworldly source – YOU.

If a Character is attacked and suffers Life Pool Damage they may reduce the vast majority of the damage. If the damage to the character is less than lethal (if they would be no lower than (-9) Life Pool after the attack), the player may use the Artifact to absorb the damage from the attack, only absorbing (-5) Life Pool Damage. NOTE: If the Character is wearing armor that would mitigate the damage, the Character still takes (-5) Life Pool of damage, although their armor is undamaged.

If the back of this Artifact is signed by the ODGM (Bryan Donihue), the Character only takes (-3) Life Pool . This replaces the (-5) Life Pool loss, and this bonus travels with the Artifact.

This Artifact may only be used once per game session, regardless of who used it. This TYPE of Artifact (Just a Scratch Artifact) can only be used twice during any game session. That means only two different people may use their Just a Scratch Artifacts.

Once this Artifact is used, it MUST be given to another player. This is a GIFT to the other player for them to keep and/or use as they seem fit.

Just a Scratch Artifact

Your character receives protection from soul attacks from an otherworldly source – YOU.

If a Character is attacked and suffers Soul Pool Damage they may reduce the vast majority of the damage. If the damage to the character is less than debilitating (if they would be no lower than (-9) Soul Pool after the attack), the player may use the Artifact to absorb the damage from the attack, only absorbing (-5) Soul Pool Damage.

NOTE: This does NOT affect Drain from Faith Abilities that the Character casts. This is only protection from attacks and damage (including direct Drain effects, Sanity Drain, etc.).

If the back of this Artifact is signed by the ODGM (Bryan Donihue), the Character only takes (-3) Soul Pool. This replaces the (-5) Soul Pool loss, and this bonus travels with the Artifact.

This Artifact may only be used once per game session, regardless of who used it. This TYPE of Artifact (Strength of Mind Artifact) can only be used twice during any game session. That means only two different people may use their Strength of Mind Artifacts.

Once this Artifact is used, it MUST be given to another player. This is a GIFT to the other player for them to keep and/or use as they seem fit.

Strength of Mind